top of page
Search
  • as10476

Phase 1, Post 2: MakerSpace

Like many incoming undergraduate students in Tandon, my first experience at the MakerSpace was during the course EG 1003. We were given an orientation and tour of the different materials and resources available to us. As a freshman coming into a new school the experience was daunting. The space looked similar to that of a manufacturing plant. The 3-D printers, laser cutters , soldering irons, and water jet cutters were all overwhelming and looked difficult to use. During the short tour we were taught how to use each machine.

The amount of high tech machinery open to the students impressed me. The entire space brings out the essence and identity of the Engineering school.

Although in high school I had used a 3-D printer and a drill press this was beyond my experience. Since freshman year I have not used the MakerSpace in any of my classes. It is unfortunate that I have yet to fully utilize my resources and opportunities given to me at this school. For that, I am excited to get my hands on creating a prototype in the MakerSpace for the projects in this class. I hope to spend time there again next year, possibly for my Senior Design Project, which is why this class will be a helpful tool to familiarize myself with the machinery.


The first floor of the MakerSpace has a multitude of Ultimaker 3D-printers.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Phase 2, Post 5 - External Speakers

During class, we had the wonderful opportunity to hear from different speakers from a wide range of backgrounds and fields share their experience with Diversity, Inclusion and Technology. One thing th

Missing Post - Phase 1, Post 10: Salient Identities

Initial Project: At first, when I was continuing with the Posture Pack, the salient identities included ability, age, and class. Ability and age made up the primary focus of our target salient identit

Phase 2, Post 10: Bibliography

The following are the sources I used for my final project: Two of the sources are from class material: The field guide to human centered design, and Diversity and Design. Further references are made w

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page